Waivers

Waivers

Waivers

 

If your employer pays more than $5,250 for educational benefits for you during the year, you must generally pay tax on the amount over $5,250. Your employer should include in your wages (Form W-2, box 1) the amount that you must include in income. For inquiries please contact the IRS or your employer Human Resources department.

Active Duty Waiver

Students who are active duty members of the Armed Forces of the United States residing or stationed outside of the state of Florida while enrolled at a state university are eligible for a waiver of out-of-state fees as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVII Early Learning-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational, Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26 (14)(a) Fee waivers.

Students who wish to use this benefit must submit an Out-of-State Fee Waiver Request form along with support documentation to the Office of Military and Veteran Student Success.  The request must be submitted each term prior to the payment deadline(s).

For questions regarding this tuition waiver, please contact the Office of Military and Veteran Student Success at 407-823-2707 or email varc@ucf.edu.

Adoptee Care Tuition Fee Exemption - Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF)

Students who are or were at the time before the age of 18, adopted from the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) after May 5, 1997, are eligible for an education tuition and fees exemption as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, Early Learning-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.25(d) Fee exemptions.

Students eligible for this program are exempt from paying tuition and applicable fees.  The exemption remains valid up until the time the student reaches the age of 28.  To receive this tuition and fees exemption, students must submit a Tuition and Exemption form (CF-FSP 5220) their first term to: saswaivers@ucf.edu.   The CF-FSP 5220 form may be obtained from a DCF representative or the Florida’s Independent Living Resource Center.

For questions regarding this tuition exemption, please contact Student Account Services at (407) 823-2433 or email saswaivers@ucf.edu.

 

Certificate of Participation (COP) Waiver

A Certificate of Participation (COP) may be issued to persons who supervise student interns for a state university.  The holder of a certificate is entitled to receive an exemption of the hourly rate for up to six (6) credit hours during one term of instruction at a state university for undergraduate and graduate level courses. The holder will be responsible to pay all other non-covered COP fees by the fee payment deadline(s).  See the Academic Calendar for the Fee Payment Deadline(s).

The COP requires three signatures: the Program Administrator’s Signature, the Academic Dean’s (or designee’s) signature, and the Recipient’s (holder’s) signature.  All COP forms must be used before their expiration date.  Incomplete and expired COP forms are invalid and cannot be redeemed.

To redeem a COP tuition exemption, students are required to submit their COP form for the term of usage to Student Account Services on or prior to the Fee Payment Deadline(s).  COPs are only valid for one term use and cannot be reused for multiple terms once redeemed.  The COPs cannot be split for use between terms, i.e., 3 hours in one term and 3 hours in a following term.  Multiple COPs cannot be used in a single term.

Submit COP forms as a scanned attachment in an email to saswaivers@ucf.edu. Students may also mail the forms to the following address:

UCF Student Account Services
Attn: Waivers Processing
P.O. Box 160115
Orlando, FL 32816-0115

 

Child Protection and Child Welfare Personnel Waiver (effective Fall 2014)

Students who are employed as child protection and child welfare personnel as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XXIX, Public Health, Chapter 402 Health and Human Services: Miscellaneous Provisions, 402.403 Child Protection and Child Welfare Personnel Tuition Exemption Program, are eligible for a tuition and fees exemption for up to six (6) credit hours per term in a master’s degree in social work or certificate program. Under this program, students must maintain a grade of at least a “B” in all courses exempt from tuition and fees.

All child protection and child welfare personnel who participate in the tuition exemption program established under this section must remain employed by the department, a state agency, or a contracted provider for 5 years after completion of a graduate level social work program. If employment ends before the 5-year period, the benefit shall be repaid according to a pro-rate calculation based on the number of years of service.

Students eligible for this tuition and fees exemption must submit an approved Department of Children and Families, community-based agency or a subcontractor waiver form prior to each term’s payment deadline(s) to: saswaivers@ucf.edu

Combat Decoration Waiver

Florida resident military personnel who were awarded a Purple Heart or another combat decoration superior in precedence are eligible for a tuition waiver as defined in the FL Statutes, Title IXLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(8) Fee Waivers. This benefit waives tuition and applicable fees for an undergraduate degree or certificate program.  It is applicable for 110 percent of the number of required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Students must be enrolled full-time, part-time, or summer-school program that terminates in an undergraduate degree or certificate program.
  • Students must currently, or was, at the time of the military action that resulted in the awarding of the Purple Heart or other combat decoration superior in precedence, be a resident of the state of Florida.

In order to receive this benefit, students must submit their DD-214 form issued at the time of separation from service as documentation that a Purple Heart or another combat decoration superior in precedence was received to the Office of Military and Veteran Student Success on or before the Tuition and Fees Payment Deadline(s) on their first term.  See the Academic Calendar for the Fee Payment Deadline(s).

Students meeting all the eligibility requirements for this benefit will be forwarded to Student Account Services for processing.

Please direct questions regarding the Combat Decoration tuition waiver to: varc@ucf.edu.     

 

Military and Veteran Success Center Website
Congressman C.W. Bill Young Tuition Waiver (effective Fall 2014)

Students who are honorably discharged veterans and physically reside in the state while enrolled are eligible for an out-of-state fees tuition waiver as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII Early Learning-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(13) Fee Waivers.

 In order to use this benefit, students must submit their DD-214 form issued at the time of separation from service as documentation to the Office of Military and Veteran Student Success for review and approval. Students must also complete and submit a Request for Veteran Tuition Waiver form to the MVSC office by the first day of classes each term.

 Additional information for the C.W. Bill Young Tuition Waiver Program is available online here.

Dual Enrollment/Early Admissions Fee Exemption

Students enrolled in a dual enrollment or early admission program are exempt from the payment of tuition and fees at a state university as defined in Florida Statutes Title XLVII Early Learning-20 Educational Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009(25)(1)(a) Fee exemptions.

The Advising Offices will automatically forward information on students who qualify for the tuition and fees exemption to Student Account Services prior to the payment deadline(s).

Additional information regarding the Dual Enrollment/Early Admissions Program is available online through the Undergraduate Admissions Office.  

Foster Care Tuition Fee Exemption – Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF)

Students who are or were under the care of a relative or a nonrelative at the time of their 18th birthday through the Florida Department of Children and Families are eligible for an education tuition and fees exemption as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, Early Learning-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.25(d) Fee exemptions. 

Students eligible for this program are exempt from paying tuition and applicable fees. The exemption remains valid up until the time the student reaches the age of 28.  To receive this tuition and fees exemption, students must submit a Tuition and Exemption form (CF-FSP 5220) their first term to: saswaivers@ucf.edu.  The form may be obtained from a DCF representative or the Florida’s Independent Living Resource Center.

For questions regarding this tuition exemption, please contact Student Account Services at (407) 823-2433 or email saswaivers@ucf.edu.

Free Seat Program

The Free Seat Program was created to encourage veterans, active duty members of the United State Armed Forces, active drilling members of the Florida National Guard, and nontraditional students to enroll in an online baccalaureate degree program at a state university as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-2 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(19) Fee Waivers.

Under this program, a limited number of eligible students may be approved to receive a waiver of tuition and applicable fees for one course and a 25% discount for all other courses during the first term of enrollment.  Subsequent terms beyond the first term of enrollment will also be eligible for a 25% tuition and applicable fees discount for other courses in the online degree program.  The tuition waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credits of the online baccalaureate degree program for which the student is enrolled.  Students must remain enrolled at least part-time in the online program during each academic year to maintain eligibility for the 25% tuition and applicable fees discount.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Students must be a Florida resident for tuition purposes under Florida Statute 1009.21.
  • Students must have not previously earned a bachelor’s degree.
  • Students must be enrolled in an online bachelor’s degree program through UCF Online.
  • Students must meet one of the following:
    • A veteran as defined in s. 1.01(14), Florida Statutes;
    • An active duty members of the United States Armed Forces;
    • An active duty member of the Florida National Guard; or
    • A nontraditional student who has not been enrolled in a postsecondary institution for more than 5 years.

Apply:

The Free Seat Program is available to a limited number of eligible students on a first-come, first-served basis at UCF.  Students can apply for the tuition waiver by using this form and instructions.

Submit completed application forms as a scanned attachment in an e-mail to saswaivers@ucf.edu.

Grandparent Tuition Waiver

Beginning with the 2022-2023 academic year, the state university Grandparent Waiver was created by the Florida Legislature to allow a limited number of out-of-state students with a grandparent who is a legal Florida resident as defined in the Florida Statutes to attend a state university and have non-resident fees waived.  The tuition waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credit hours of the degree program for which the student is enrolled.  A written declaration attesting to the student’s familial relationship to a grandparent and other corroborating documentation will be required.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Student must have a grandparent who is a legal resident as defined in Florida Statutes 1009.21(2) a.
  • Student must have a grandparent who has a legal relationship to their parent as the natural, adopted, or legal guardian.
  • Student must have earned a high school diploma comparable to a Florida standard high diploma, or its equivalent, or completes a home education program.
  • Student must have a minimum of 1330 total SAT score or 29 ACT composite score.
  • Student must enroll as a full-time undergraduate student in the Summer or Fall term immediately following high school graduation.
  • Student must continuously enroll full-time every Fall and Spring term until bachelor’s degree program completion to maintain eligibility for the tuition waiver.

Apply:

The Grandparent Tuition Waiver is available to a limited number of eligible students on a first-come, first-served basis at UCF.  Students can apply for the tuition waiver using the form and instructions found here 

 

 

Linkage Waiver

The Florida Legislature has established 11 International Linkage Institutes as defined in the Florida Statutes 288.8175. According to statue 1009.21, students who qualify will be eligible for non-resident tuition fee waivers. The Institutes are:

  • Florida-Brazil Institute
  • Florida-Canada Institute
  • Florida Caribbean Institute
  • Florida-China Institute
  • Florida-Costa Rica Institute
  • Florida-Eastern Europe Institute
  • Florida-France Institute
  • Florida-Israel Institute
  • Florida-Japan Institute
  • Florida-Mexico Institute
  • Florida-West Africa Institute

The Linkage Institutes notifies the students that they are certified to receive an out-of-state exemption/waiver. The student must submit the award letter to Student Account Services prior to the Fee Payment Deadline each term and pay any remaining fees by the Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for the Fee Payment Deadline. The letter is very specific and it will state the terms, program of study and the number of hours that the award covers. Submit letters by fax or as a scanned attachment in an e-mail (preferred method) to saswaivers@ucf.edu.

Out-of-State Tuition Waiver for Specific Florida High School Graduates (effective Fall 2014)

Students who have attended a secondary school in Florida for three (3) consecutive years immediately before graduating from a high school in this state; have applied for enrollment in an institution of higher education within 24 months after high school graduation; and who submit an official Florida high school transcript as evidence of attendance and graduation are eligible for an out-of-state fee waiver, as defined in the Florida Statutes, Chapter 2014-62, Section 5, 1009.26 Fee Waivers. The waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled.

Incoming students need to apply for the waiver using the waiver form and instructions on the Undergraduate Admissions website.

Current students need to apply for the waiver by visitng the Out-of-State Tuition page on the Registrar’s office website for the waiver form and instructions.

Reciprocal Exchange Student Waiver

The “Reciprocal Student Exchange” is a program in which degree-seeking students from UCF attend a foreign partner university in exchange for students from the partner university attending UCF. Participants must stay registered at their university of origin (home institution). An official agreement between UCF and an institution abroad establishes the reciprocal exchanges.

School Psychology Waiver

Graduate students in a state-approved school psychology program of study are entitled to a waiver of tuition and fees associated with internship credit hours, as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(5) Fee Waivers. The School Psychology Program Coordinator will inform Student Account Services of each term’s recipients. Recipients of this waiver will have all tuition and fees waived if the internship is the only course registered. Students must pay tuition and fees for all other registered courses by the Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for deadlines.

Science, Technology, Engineering, Math (STEM) Tuition Waiver

Effective Fall 2021, students enrolled in a Program of Strategic Emphasis, as adopted by the Board of Governors, shall receive a tuition and fees waiver for an equivalent course as defined in the Florida Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(18)(a) Fee Waivers.  The tuition waiver is applicable to the Board of Governors’ identified Programs of Strategic Emphasis in science, technology, engineering, or math for upper-division courses.

Programs of Strategic Emphasis:
Accounting (Effective Fall 2022)
Computer & Information Sciences                         
Civil Engineering                                                     
Computer Engineering
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
Elementary Education & Teaching (Effective Fall 2023)
Finance (Effective Fall 2022)                
Information Technology
Mathematics                                                                  
Management Information Systems
Physics
Special Education & Teaching (Effective Fall 2023)

 Eligibility Requirements:

  • Students must be a Florida resident for tuition purposes under Florida Statute 1009.21.
  • Students must have earned at least 60 semester credit hours towards a baccalaureate degree within two academic years after initial enrollment at a Florida public postsecondary institution.
  • Students must be accepted into one of the ten Programs of Strategic Emphasis.

Eligible students receive a 50 percent tuition waiver for specified tuition and associated fees for upper level 3000/4000 courses required within the degree program.  The tuition waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credits of the baccalaureate degree program for which the student is enrolled. Graduate and second-degree seeking students are not eligible to receive this waiver.

Students are not required to apply or request this tuition waiver.  Students eligible for this tuition waiver will be automatically identified by the University based on academic record.  Students meeting all eligibility guidelines will be notified by email after the Add/Drop registration deadline.

Please direct questions regarding the STEM Waiver to: saswaivers@ucf.edu.

Please direct questions regarding your academic record to: registrar@ucf.edu.

 

Senior Citizen Waiver

Persons 60 years of age or older who meet Florida Residency requirements may register only to audit classes without payment of tuition and application fees as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(4) Fee Waivers. Registration is on a space-available basis and occurs on the last day of regular registration, at the time specified on the Academic Calendar for each term. See the Academic Calendar for Registration and Fee Payment Deadlines.

The Registrar’s Office personnel are responsible for verifying senior citizen status, residency and eligibility for enrollment in the requested courses, as well as enrolling senior citizens in the classes. Then the Registrar’s Office staff delivers the Senior Citizen Audit Registration Forms to Student Account Services for waiver processing by the Fee Payment Deadline each term. Contact the Registrar’s Office for information regarding eligibility and/or what form to submit.

Special Risk Waiver- Dependents of Law Enforcement Officers, Correctional, Correctional Probation Officers, Emergency Medical Technicians, Paramedics, and Firefighters

Dependents of Law Enforcement Officers, Correctional, Correctional Probation Officers, Emergency Medical Technicians, Paramedics, and Firefighters killed in the line of duty are eligible for an education tuition and fees exemption as defined in the Florida Statutes Title X Public Officers, Employees and Records, Chapter 112 Public Officers and Employees: General Provisions; Section (112.19(3)) and/or Florida Statutes Title X Public Officers, Employees, and Records, Chapter 112 Public Officers and Employees: General Provisions, Section 1912 First responders, death benefits for educational expenses (112.1912).

A maximum of 120 credit hours in an authorized undergraduate or postgraduate education may be covered for spouses and dependent children (under 25). Spouses must request to use the benefit within 5 years after the death date of the officer and may continue to receive the benefit until the 10th anniversary. Students must be in good standing with the University to receive the waiver each term.

Eligible students may request this tuition waiver by submitting a letter of verification from a superior official or the Human Resources department of deceased officer’s employer.  The verification letter should include all pertinent information as it relates to the statutes as well as student name, date of birth, relationship type, deceased officer’s date of death, etc.  Please submit the letter to: saswaivers@ucf.edu.

 

Special Risk Waiver- Dependents of Deceased Teachers and School Administrators

Dependents of Deceased Teachers and School Administrators killed or is injured and dies as a result of an unlawful and intentional act are eligible for a tuition and fees exemption provided such killing or injury was inflicted by another person and the motivation for the act is related in whole or part to the fact that the individual is a teacher or school administrator, or such act is inflicted while he or she is engaged in the performance of teaching duties or school administration duties while employed by a Florida district school board as defined in the Florida Statutes Title X Public Officers, Employees, and Records, Chapter 112 Public Officers and Employees: General Provisions, Section 1915 Teachers and school administrators; death benefits (112.1915).

A maximum of 120 credit hours in an authorized undergraduate education or a postgraduate education may be waived for dependent children under 25. Students must be in good standing with the University to receive the waiver each term.

Eligible students may request this tuition waiver by submitting a letter of verification from a superior official or the Human Resources department of deceased teacher’s or school administrator’s employer.  The verification letter should include all pertinent information as it relates to the statutes as well as student name, date of birth, school official’s date of death, etc.  Please submit the letter to: saswaivers@ucf.edu.

Special Risk Waiver- Dependents of Active Duty Members of the Unites States Armed Forces

 Dependents of Active Duty Members of the Unites States Armed Forces killed while on active duty and engaged in the performance of his or her official duties or receives a bodily injury that results in the loss of life are eligible for an education tuition and fees exemption as defined in the Florida Statutes Title XX Veterans, Chapter 295 Laws Relating to Veterans: General Provision, Section 061 Active duty servicemembers; death benefits (295.061(8)).

To qualify for the tuition exemption benefit, the deceased military member must have been a resident of the state of Florida, or his or her duty post must have been within the state of Florida, at the time of death. A maximum of 120 credit hours in an authorized undergraduate or postgraduate education may be covered for spouses and dependent children (under 25). Spouses must request to use the benefit within 5 years after the death date of the officer and may continue to receive the benefit until the 10th anniversary. Students must be in good standing with the University to receive the waiver each term.

Eligible students may request this tuition waiver by submitting a support documentation from a superior official to the Office of Military and Veteran Student Success

Sponsored Institute Waiver

Participants of sponsored credit institutes and programs are eligible for a waiver of tuition and fees of all courses of the designated program as authorized by the board of trustees of each university. The department offering a sponsored program will submit a list of all participants to Student Account Services for processing. Students should view the Fee Invoice before the fee payment deadline to ensure waiver is processed.

State of Florida Employees Tuition Waiver

Full-time state employees who meet academic requirements are entitled to a waiver of tuition and fees as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.265(1-5) Fee Waivers. State employees are any individuals who work in any of the State of Florida agencies (i.e. Department of Corrections, Department of Children and Families, Department of Transportation etc.). State University employees as well as educators of the different counties of the state are not state employees. Eligible employees may be allowed to enroll for up to six (6) credit hours of eligible instruction per Fall, Spring and/or Summer terms without payment of tuition and fees including the late registration fee.

  • State Employee registration occurs on the last day of regular Registration for each term, at the time specified on the Academic Calendar for each term.
  • Summer term has two employee dates: one for sessions A, C, D, and a separate one for session B.
  • The following registration activities prior to the state employee registration timeframe may invalidate the use of the waiver:
    • The initial registration attempt of the course(s) to be waived even when the course(s) were dropped and later added to the schedule during the State/UCF employee registration timeframe.
    • Department/Advising registration.
    • The initial request to waitlist course(s).
  • The tuition waiver cannot be used for courses that have increased costs. These courses include, but are not limited to, continuing education courses, executive development courses, independent study, clinical courses, supervised research, supervised teaching labs, thesis hours, dissertation, internships, practicum courses, third-attempt repeat courses and surcharges, co-ops, or applied individualized instruction in Music, Art, Dance, etc.

Any state employee who uses an Employee Tuition Waiver for approved courses must submit a completed and signed tuition waiver form to Student Account Services by or prior to each term’s Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for each term’s Fee Payment Deadlines. To view a complete set of instructions, employees may obtain the “State Employee Tuition Waiver Form and Instructions” from the Registrar’s Office Web site. Students are encouraged to list alternate courses on the waiver form to substitute for preferred courses that are closed. Student Account Services will not waive courses not listed on the waiver form.

Waived amounts above the I.R.S. threshold are reportable.

Submit completed waiver forms by fax or as a scanned attachment in an e-mail (preferred method) to saswaivers@ucf.edu.

UCF Tuition Waiver Benefit Program-UCF Employee

UCF employees who are classified as Faculty, Administrative and Professional (A&P), University Personnel Systems (USPS), on Sabbatical, undergoing professional development, using grants-in-aid, or on medical and educational leave; who are employed in an established full-time position with a 1.0 FTE on the date fees are due; and who meet academic requirements to enroll are eligible for a waiver of tuition and fees as defined in the FL Statutes, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, Section 26 Fee waivers, (1009.26(3)). Eligible employees may enroll for up to six (6) credit hours of eligible instruction per Fall, Spring and/or Summer terms without payment of tuition and fees on a space-available basis. Adjunct instructors, employees employed as Other Personnel Services (OPS) and part-time employees are not eligible to participate.

  • UCF Employee space-available registration begins on the last day of regular registration, at the time specified on the Academic Calendar for each term.
  • Summer term has two employee registration dates: one for sessions A, C, D, and a separate one for session B.
  • The following registration activities prior to the employee registration timeframe may invalidate the use of the waiver:
    • The initial registration attempt of the course(s) to be waived even when the course(s) were dropped and later added to the schedule during the State/UCF employee registration timeframe.
    • Department/Advising registration.
    • The initial request to waitlist course(s).
  • The tuition waiver cannot be used for courses that have increased costs. These courses include, but are not limited to, continuing education courses, executive development courses, independent study, clinical courses, supervised research, supervised teaching labs, thesis hours, dissertation, internships, practicum courses, third-attempt repeat courses and surcharges, co-ops, or applied individualized instruction in Music, Art, Dance, etc.

Any UCF employee who uses an Employee Tuition Waiver for approved courses must submit a completed and signed tuition waiver form to Student Account Services by or prior to each term’s Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for each term’s Fee Payment Deadlines. Prior to enrolling into courses each term, refer to the Human Resources Web site for eligibility requirements, course restrictions, and the Employee Waiver Form. Students are encouraged to list alternate courses on the waiver form to substitute for preferred courses that are closed. Student Account Services will not waive courses not listed on the waiver form.

Waived amounts above the I.R.S. threshold are reportable.

Submit completed waiver forms as a scanned attachment in an email to saswaivers@ucf.edu.

UCF Tuition Waiver Benefit Program-Dependent Child/Spouse

Full-time UCF employees who are classified as Faculty, Administrative and Professional (A&P), University Support Personnel System (USPS) on Sabbatical, undergoing professional development, using grants-in-aid, or on medical and educational leave; who are employed in an established full-time position with a 1.0 FTE on the date fees are due, are eligible for a dependent or spouse tuition waiver benefit. The benefit allows employees to assign some or all of their unused portion of their six (6) credit hours to family members (defined as spouses and dependent children under the age of 26).

Spouses and dependent children of employees employed as Other Personnel Services (OPS), Adjunct instructors, and part-time employees are not eligible to participate.

Eligible spouses and dependent children must meet academic requirements to enroll, and may take up to six (6) credit hours of eligible instruction per Fall, Spring and/or Summer terms without payment of tuition and fees including the late registration fee.

  • Registration occurs on the last day of regular Registration for each term, at the time specified on the Academic Calendar.
  • Summer term has two registration dates: one for sessions A, C, D, and a separate one for session B.
  • The following registration activities prior to the registration timeframe may invalidate the use of the waiver: 
    • The initial registration attempt of the course(s) to be waived even when the course(s) were dropped and later added to the schedule during the State/UCF registration timeframe.
    • Department/Advising registration.
    • The initial request to waitlist course(s).
  • The tuition waiver cannot be used for courses that have increased costs. These courses include, but are not limited to, continuing education courses, executive development courses, independent study, clinical courses, supervised research, supervised teaching labs, thesis hours, dissertation, internships, practicum courses, third-attempt repeat courses and surcharges, co-ops, or applied individualized instruction in Music, Art, Dance, etc.

Spouses and dependents must submit a completed and signed Tuition Waiver Form to Student Account Services by each term’s Fee Payment Deadline. See the Academic Calendar for each term’s Fee Payment Deadlines. Prior to enrolling into courses each term, refer to the Human Resources Web site for eligibility requirements, course restrictions, and the UCF Tuition Waiver Benefit Program Contingent Tuition Waiver Transfer Form. Both the UCF employee and spouse/dependent must sign and date the form. Students are encouraged to list alternate courses on their waiver form to substitute for preferred courses that are full. We will waive up to six (6) credit hours of courses listed on the approved waiver form.

Submit completed waiver forms by fax or as a scanned attachment in an e-mail (preferred method) to saswaivers@ucf.edu.

 

 

 

Wrongful Incarceration Waiver

Students, who were wrongfully incarcerated and had a felony conviction and sentence vacated by a court and the original sentencing court has issued its order finding that the person neither committed the act, nor did not aid, abet or act as an accomplice or accessory to the act or offense, are eligible for a tuition and fees exemption for up to 120 credit hours at a state university.

A student who is eligible for this tuition and fees waiver must provide court-verified documentation that the conviction and sentence were vacated to: saswaivers@ucf.edu.

 

The University Waiver Liaison is Philomene Dorlus. For questions regarding tuition waivers and exemptions, please email saswaivers@ucf.edu or call 407 823-2433.